Uncategorized

Wedding Weekend

This weekend was the wedding we’ve been planning for weeks, months, actually. I’m exhausted. The weather was beautiful this weekend, the sun was shining and a breeze was blowing, but it was still so hot, especially dressed in our black “server” outfits. We spent Friday night at Holly’s Mamaw’s, we set up chairs for the ceremony and stayed up cooking until 2 am. Awake again at 9:30 to cook some more. We nearly caught her front porch on fire when the deep fryer overflowed, and the closer it got to 4 o’clock the more hectic things became. We were trying to get last minute food stuff done, Haley was getting ready to walk down the aisle, her parents were getting ready, the photographer was wandering around taking pictures and my parents showed up too, so we had a full house. Eventually we managed to get all the food up to the tent and set up.

The ceremony wasn’t perfect by any means, the speaker kept messing up, the wind was blowing, so the candles wouldn’t light and the aisle runner blew out of place. No one seemed to know when to sit or stand… Haley was beautiful though and she seemed so happy.  As her mother said “She has loved his guts since the moment she met him.” I don’t think he’s good enough for her, I don’t think anyone could be though, I’ve watched her grow up, she’s a sister to me, and since I don’t have Carmen anymore, even more so.

It was a long weekend and my whole body hurts. I’m so glad that it’s over. Next weekend is Father’s Day and my birthday. We’re going to go cook dinner at my Papaws and spent the first half of the day with my family before going to Holly’s Mamaws to spend the last part of the day with her family. I’m going to my dad’s tomorrow to visit with Elizabeth also. I’m so thankful to have so much family in my life. I grew up with a big family and I loved it. But then things happened, too many people passed away, others moved away. My family became very small.  Then I became part of Holly’s family, at least I like to think I am anyway. And then I met my Dad and Elizabeth, and my family grew a little more. Now, Haley and Trevor are married and it’s gotten a little bigger.  I’m thankful for all of the people I consider to be my family. And even when I don’t agree with their choices, I’ll be there to support them, and celebrate with them. And apparently cook 200 pieces of chicken on very little sleep for them too.

Leave a Reply

