Reading

Owlcrate May Unboxing!

The theme for Owlcrates May box was “Comic Explosion!”  If you read my blog at all, by now you know that Owlcrate sends out 1 box a month, featuring a newly released Young Adult book and some bookish goodies to go along with the theme.

The book this month was Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia. It featured an Owlcrate exclusive cover, and we got the book before it’s official release date! I was so excited to find this book in my box. It’s about a socially awkward girl named Eliza who writes a web comic, that is immensely popular. Stuff happens and her identity is revealed. Suddenly she has all this attention on her and her comic and she finds herself unable to continue writing it. I thought this book was fantastic. It took me a minute to get into, but by page 50 I was flying through it. This book also came with a signed book plate, a letter from the author and a print, made by the author, exclusively for Owlcrate!

Also in this months box was a  full sized Funko Pop! – There were 7 different ones that went out in the boxes: Batman, Deadpool, Wonder Woman, Captain America, Loki, Harley Quinn, and Sailor Moon. I received Harley Quinn. I don’t really watch superhero movies and I definitely don’t read the comics, so I didn’t really care about this at all.

Next was an Ink pen from Ooly, that has 6 different colors of ink. Ink pens are always useful.

A zipper pull created exclusively for this box by Owlcrate.

A Wonder Woman mini candle from the Dio Candle Company. It smells like Hawaiian Punch and I can’t stop sniffing it!

Some Coffee Candies from a company called Kafe! Zing! – I gave these to Holly because I hate coffee flavor.

A chapter sampler from AFAR, a new release by Imagine Comics.

And lastly, the Owlcrate collectible button that we get in every box.

Overall this box was not my favorite. I’m not into comic books and felt like the items in the box were just not up to their usual standards. I did love the book and the candle though, so it wasn’t a complete let down. The best part though is the theme announcement for next month! “Make it Out Alive!” It’s a dystopian theme and I’m so excited about it. I love dystopian novels, The 100, The Walking Dead, The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, I can’t get enough of them, so I’m super excited. Plus June is my birth month and I should get my box just a few days after my birthday!

Leave a Reply

